Village Officials
Board of Trustees

Thomas Pirro


Mayor Thomas Pirro served for four years as a Member of the Board of Trustees before being elected Mayor in March, 2022. He oversees all aspects of Village government (including the Building Department and Finances). He also serves as Commissioner of Code Enforcement. Tom has been a licensed CPA since 1987. He is a member of the New York State Society of CPA’s and has served as a member of the Board and as Secretary/Treasurer of that organization. He has been and is affiliated with numerous organizations associated with the field of public accounting.

Tom Gulbransen


Tom has served in various roles on the Village Board and Crane Neck Homeowners Association since he and Suzanne moved here with their two young children in the late 1990s. As a lifelong resident of coastal communities, Tom appreciates the opportunity to promote balance among development of the land and protection of the environment we live in. Many of Tom’s services to the Village, e.g. Environmental Conservation Commissioner and Public Safety liaison, reflect his 40 years as an environmental scientist and his firematic/EMT roles as a Captain in the Setauket Fire Department. Tom can be reached via or 516-313-9311.

Morgan Morrison


Morgan Morrison was born and raised in the Village of Old Field. As a life-long resident of 42 years, he is deeply rooted in this community and has a strong desire to see its unique character maintained for all to enjoy. Morgan is a lover of nature and an avid beekeeper. He holds a BSc in Computer Science from Stony Brook University and currently works in Horticulture. His interests include gardening, photography and cycling.


William Schaefer


Bill Schaefer has been a resident of Old Field for 21 years and previously served as Acting Village Justice and a member of the Board of Trustees. He was elected to his current position in March, 2022. Mayor Pirro designated Bill with a series of Special Projects including revision of the website, revising procedures or the Village Justice Court; and drafting potential changes to the Village Code. Bill can be reached at 631-371-9287. Bill previously served as a Suffolk County Assistant District Attorney and an Assistant United States Attorney for the Department of Justice (prosecuting Asian, Russian and Italian organized crime cases). He currently teaches criminal justice and political science courses at Hofstra University and St. Joseph’s University which leaves him time to try to add to the 125 countries he has visited in his lifetime.

Rebecca VanDerBogart


Rebecca Van Der Bogart is the village trustee in charge of municipal buildings and parks and oversees the maintenance of trees on the sides of village roads. She also has administrative responsibility. In the summer of 1997, Rebecca and her wife Hayley purchased their home in Old Field and side-by-side they’ve spent the last 25 years researching and restoring their 150-year-old farmhouse and barn. Rebecca received her undergraduate degree in Business from Stony Brook University. She has worked in the design-built industry for 29 years, most currently as a Global Account Manager for Miller Knoll. She was one of the founding members of the Friends of Flax Pond, Rebecca is committed to protecting the environment, and balancing responsible stewardship with education, enjoyment, and access. She loves to swim and Paddle board with Hayley and her two poodles.

The Village of Old Field is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of a Mayor and four Board Members (one of whom is appointed as Deputy Mayor) elected for staggered two year terms. Each of the four Trustees also holds a position as a Commissioner. The Mayor and Trustees serve without compensation. Annual elections take place on the third Tuesday of March at the Village Hall (Old Field Lighthouse). Every registered adult resident is entitled to vote.

The Board of Trustees enacts all Village ordinances and regulations, passes and implements the annual budget, authorizes the disbursement of Village funds, oversees the operations of Village government, conducts hearings on specific matters, and confirms the Mayor’s appointments of residents to the Village Boards and Committees. All appointees to these Boards and Committees serve without compensation.

The structure, composition, and operations of Village government is governed by New York State Law and the Village of Old Field Code. Complete information concerning relevant state laws may be secured from The New York State Conference of Mayors and Municipal Officials at

Notices for all meetings and hearings (whose time and location are subject to change) as well as other matters which by law requires public notice are posted in the newspaper of record for the Village of Old Field, The Village Times, at Village Hall, on notice boards throughout the Village, and on this website under Village Meetings.

Village Justice Court

Mitchell Birzon

Village Justice

David Kaufman

Prosecuting Attorney

Michael Levine

Associate Village Justice

Marianne Feller

Court Clerk


The Village Justice of Old Field is elected for a four year term and presides at the Village Justice Court. An Acting Village Justice is appointed annually by the Village Board of Trustees. The Village Justice Court meets on the first Thursday of every other month (starting in January) at 6:30 PM at the Keeper’s Cottage on Old Field Point.

Appointed Officials

Adrienne Kessel

Village Clerk


Andrea Podolsky

Village Treasurer


Frank Croce

Senior Code Enforcement Officer


Anthony Guardino

Village Attorney

Dave Kaufman

Prosecuting Attorney

Joseph Arico

Building Inspector


Dawn McCoy

Village Building Department Clerk


Steve Hayduk

Village Engineer

Charlene Seifert

Village Historian

Jean Darrow

Animal Warden

Thomas Taranto

PJ Harbor Commissioner

Old Field Landscaping

Village Landscaper

Jean Darrow

Animal Warden

Elected & Appointed Officials

Boards & Committees

List of all the working groups

Justice Court

Place to escalate an issue

Village Code

Database of village ordinances

Village Meetings

Monthly public meetings